valentine's days

about to take flight

As I write this, I'm heading home to the city after spending a few days in that house by the sea. It's so strange calling the city home when I've always been a small town girl at heart, but I'm afraid it's finally starting to come true after several years of living and studying here.

I'm waiting at the gate next to my actual gate because it's slightly warmer here (this airport is so freezing, even the windows are fogged up). My flight's delayed. My phone is only half charged, and I'm listening to Niki's new album with only my right earphone because it's good to be at least somewhat aware of your surroundings in public. I kind of want to put my left earphone in, though.

This trip marks the first time I’ve ever been on a plane, and so far, I like it. The ascent is rollercoaster-like in a good way, and the air is smoother than asphalt. Cloud watching is also way different when you’re up in the sky with them. How could I have known that I was missing out on seeing the tops of clouds if I’d never known to imagine such a thing?

Plane altitudes feel just right, too: it’s so high up that it stops being scary. Instead of getting scared about being on a metal tube in the air, you just look in awe at the land slowly drifting by, and the shimmering sea that stretches on and on.

Some of the greatest stories ever were written in airports, but I’m afraid this post isn’t quite there yet. Just some thoughts about planes. I hope I’ll get to write an airport banger someday.

#blaugust2024 #everyday