valentine's days

bus terminal blues

My hometown is several hours away from the city where I study. I'm not telling you the exact number because internet safety, but we're talking hours in a day, just gone. Suffice to say the logistics of going home at the end of the semester absolutely fucking suck1. As I write this, I have to be awake again in a couple of hours to catch the bus.2

Tonight, I've been bouncing between writing two papers and packing my bags. Packing is horrible. It's my least favorite going-home-related chore. And since the weather has been unpredictable recently, I don't know what kind of clothes to bring. I just brought a little bit of everything, which makes for a heavy, almost overstuffed bag.

And that's just stage one of going home. Stage two is the actual getting on a vehicle and going. After two years of college, I've found that the best way to deal with the misery of being on a bus at an ungodly hour is to simply not be present. In other words, sleep away as many of the hours as you can. You don't have to eat, drink, or be motion sick because you ate or drank when you're asleep.

But today I can't immediately go to sleep, because I have to continue cramming those papers. I don't have to be on campus anymore, but I still have some projects left before the semester really ends.

I hate this week. I really do.

But it's ending! It's finally ending. I told myself after I finished all my remaining work for the semester I would go offline and binge watch Bridgerton, and it's pretty much all that's keeping me going right now. It's hilarious, because I'm not even a show kind of girl—I like reading better than watching. I literally just want to see Simone Ashley and Nicola Coughlan.

Anyway. Guess I'll just keep cramming until I pass out.


  1. Home is a good thing, of course. It's just the going that I hate. Teleportation would be so convenient, but I'm afraid of the kind of world that teleportation would be possible in. I think I've already seen enough technological breakthroughs (AI is too questionable for me at this point).

  2. This is an apology to future me, who has to make sense of all the rambling I left.

#college #everyday