valentine's days

i'm alive, what a thing to be

I'm not normally a person thankful for life. I've been existing, not living, for a long time. I wake up, do what I have to do to keep my scholarship and my body in decent condition, and go to sleep. Repeat. My days have a rhythm I don't necessarily enjoy, because college life is the same stressful day over and over again, with a little respite here and there. And it's like, God, I'm 20 years old. I should be at the club.

But life goes on regardless, so here I am, at 9 a.m., eating a bowl of thick oatmeal and writing this post. I don't know what exactly made me write this. The oatmeal? My 2024 planner slowly approaching the halfway mark? The sunlight filtering through the curtains? Maybe it's the fact that I don't have anything to go to today except lunch with a friend. Being able to take it slow in the morning, enough to think about things like this, is rare.

I'm alive. That's something.

#everyday